Home > General, Technology > ADT Pulse Upgrades

ADT Pulse Upgrades

September 28, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

ADT Pulse has added the ability to trigger recordings based on a camera’s detection of motion.  This eliminates the need to base recording events off  motion detectors.  At this time, this ability is only available with ADT’s wireless cameras.  Those running the video decoders will not be able to build triggering events based on the camera’s detection of motion.

Weather alerts have also been added.  The user can go into their alert tab and subscribe to the alert along with subscribing to “tips.”

alerts-tab

This upgrade has been mentioned in a number of comments in various posts on this blog.  It is nice to see ADT adding features to the pulse.

What am I waiting for?  The media upgrade.  This will allow the user to control music and video in the home.  No idea when this is scheduled for release.  ADT also has YET to release a thermostat that can manage a HVAC system with humidity control.  At this time, if you use any of the ADT thermostats on a HVAC system with this feature, you will loose the ability to control the humidity levels in your house.  There are a few ZWAVE thermostats that have this function.  I have heard you may be able to “trick” ADT Pulse to accept one of these other systems.

  1. Dieter
    September 28, 2013 at 11:09 am

    Been using ADT Pulse since September of 2012 and i’m reasonably happy with it. Have 19 lights and outlets controlled with zWave, plus two zWave locks. Was able to add a couple of remote controllers to control lights etc. Also have 4 wireless camera and will check out the new motion detection just announced.

  2. Frankie
    October 17, 2013 at 4:37 pm

    from reading your previous post. I see you added a control to open and close garage. How did you go by doing this? did you use a relay?

  3. October 23, 2013 at 9:44 am

    I want to monitor if my garage door is open. I bought a Z-Wave door/window switch, but the Pulse site won’t let me add it. I tried all of the devices in the list in hopes I could fool the system in to thinking it was one. I could hardwire a switch to the panel, but I believe you have to have the installer code to get the panel to even recognize it. I don’t want it to trigger an alarm, I just want to be able to see if I closed it or not. Any ideas would be appreciated.

    • October 23, 2013 at 5:36 pm

      I added a garage door sensor to determine if the garage door is open. I have a concord panel so it is a GE product. ADT Pulse considers such a device a security sensor. To add any security sensor you need to go through the security panel which will require you to have the installer code for that panel. OR you could call ADT and have them add the sensor. The zone you place the sensor will determine if it triggers as an alarm. Also, some have indicated that security devices added by users using the installer code will not alert the alarm station. This has not been my experience. All security devices I have added via the installer code will trigger an alarm if placed in the proper zone. As always, test your system after installing a device to insure you are getting the desired response.

      In short, you need the installer code for your panel. What security panel do you have?

    • October 24, 2013 at 1:38 pm

      I have the Safewatch 3000 panel. I had the installer code for my old Safewatch 3000 (they updated it when installing pulse) but haven’t been able to find it to see if it works. I have available inputs to add a sensor, was just hoping that I could do it without wiring. I sent an email to ADT tech support about using the Zwave sensor, they asked that I call tech support. I don’t hold out a lot of hope with that, but will call when I have time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Thanks. If you have never commented on this blog, it will appear once approved.

