Home > General, Technology > The Return of the Installer Option On The ADT Touchscreen

The Return of the Installer Option On The ADT Touchscreen


When ADT Pulse was first released it was possible to add security modules via the ADT GE IS-TS-0700 Touchscreen.   Apparently, ADT became aware this option was out in the wild and being used by users to add modules not listed on the ADT portal.  They removed the interface with an update.  Security modules need to be added through the security panel.

I got my hands on an older GE IS-TS-0700 touchscreen on ebay.  I added it to my system.  I was surprised to discover the old “Installer” option was on this touchscreen.  I looked at the firmware version by pressing the “ADT” logo in the upper left corner.  This touchscreen was running firmware 3.5.0-66 from Nov 18, 2010.  My older touchscreen is pushing firmware version 4.5.0-780 from March 2012.

This brings up a couple of questions.  How long before the touchscreen gets forced to update?  Is it possible to reset an updated touchscreen back to factory in order to regain the installer option?  If this is done, will ADT force an update to the newer firmware?

Answers in order: 5 minutes, Maybe, yes….you have 5 minutes.  So, not really worth it.

A touchscreen with original factory settings definitely has the touchscreen installer option.  My attempt to enter installer mode via this menu worked.   Within 5 minutes your touchscreen will appear to power off, power on and then you are forced back to the new firmware.  I interrupted the download by unplugging the screen and it defaulted to the old firmware with all options intact.

I believe you can reset the touchscreen to factory by holding down the power button while power cycling the screen.  I am not sure about this and I am looking for verification in an online manual.  I recall reading about this procedure.  I don’t want to go through the headache since I am not sure of the impact of a reset.  I would caution you before trying this.  It might just cause the touchscreen to become a brick.

The easier option is to just go through whatever interface you have for your security panel.

In short, it is not really worth it.

EDIT: I have been told that you may be able to get the Touchscreen to set back to default by simply removing the TS from the network then re-joining the same TS through the web portal, back to your network.  Upon the re-install, the TS may default back to its original firmware.  If successful, unplug the IHub from the INTERNET to prevent an update of firmware.  Once done using the interface, plug IHub back in to network (internet).  No idea if this works.  To lazy to try at the moment.

  1. February 10, 2013 at 9:31 am

    I believe if you have a GE IS TS 0700 Rev C02 you will not have the option to default to the installer option. GE IS TS 0700 Rev C01, does appear to default back to the old TS firmware.

  2. Moe M
    March 24, 2013 at 3:03 am

    How do I obtain the installer code to access the ge touchscreen?

    • March 24, 2013 at 8:56 am

      The installer code is for your security system. This code is usually entered through a keypad interface. The GE touch screen used to provide a nice way to bypass the keypad. It provided a “cleaner” interface that was easier to understand. ADT nerfed this sometime ago however, if you have an old touchscreen and set it back to factory it will briefly give you this old option until it resets to the newer firmware.

      Your installer code probably depends on the system you have. I would hit google hard and see what shakes out. Most times your friendly ADT tech will provide the code if you give them donuts.

    • Moe M
      March 24, 2013 at 12:28 pm

      Ok thanks. I do have an older model GE and have the “installer” option. It has not reverted or updated and it has been a week already, so thats good. All I am trying to do is add the “Locks” and “Thermostat” widgets which I paid for through ADT. ADT is useless. They sent a tech out and couldnt figure it out. He is suppose to call me back within a week with some info. Let you know what happens. Thanks

    • March 24, 2013 at 2:01 pm

      I see. You added the locks/thermos via the web portal and they are not showing up on your touchscreen. You could try physically connecting your TS to the IHUB and re-introducing it to the network. Basically, start over. On the portal you would “replace” the TS with your same TS. You could also “reset” the TS. There is a pin hole on the right side as you look at the screen. It is just above the USB port. Maybe one of these options will kick the TS into recognizing the added items? I would first tray “replacing” your TS via the portal.

      EDIT: get to the replace option by selecting the system tab/click on your ts/select “replace” at bottom of screen.

    • March 24, 2013 at 2:24 pm

      …also… If the replace option does not work, call ADT. Make sure they send an ADT Pulse tech to your house. Start by getting put through to the ADT Pulse phone support. I had a small issue in the past and they sent a tech not trained on the pulse. He was useless (don’t blame him, he had no training.)

    • Moe M
      March 25, 2013 at 12:49 pm

      Tried it. No go. Thanks for the advice. I placed another call to ADT for a pulse tech this time. Hope he will know more. Thanks again

    • March 25, 2013 at 1:24 pm

      Grrr…very frustrating. If you think of it, let me know what they come up with. I would make sure the tech tells you have they fixed it. Good luck.

    • March 25, 2013 at 5:29 pm

      Did you try to “refresh” your zwave network? In the portal the light modules give you the option to “refresh” the network. I am wondering if the thermostat and door lock give the same option? There is also a zwave refresh/sync button on the back of the Ihub. I believe it is labeled as a “sync” button. It is a black stub that can be depressed. As you look at the rear panel it is on the right side.

  3. Moe M
    March 26, 2013 at 5:00 pm

    I refreshed the network, and tried to sync it again from the ihub. Still no go. Still waiting for ADT tech to come out. Will let you know. At this point I am hoping that this is even an option. The light widget came right up, I am wondering if this TS is too old to recognize the door lock and thermostat

    • March 26, 2013 at 6:22 pm

      I have one of the oldest TS IS-TS-0700’s. I also have a newer model. They are all running the same firmware. I don’t have the door lock or thermo however, there is a thermo icon on my screen. When I touch it I am advised I have no thermo (duh). So it should be listed. They make a netgear TS which is more modern, rechargeable, portable, and generally nicer. If you are paying for the ADT Pulse system I would push for the new screen at NO cost.

    • Moe M
      March 26, 2013 at 8:50 pm

      Good advice. Will call them tomorrow on the new screen.

    • Moe M
      April 14, 2013 at 10:22 pm

      So according to ADT the GE touchscreen cannot control your door. So they sent me the Netgear at no cost. I like the Netgear alot better than the GE. More responsive and better display, and more importantly it has all of the controls for my package. Thanks for the advice and help with getting me a new TS.

    • April 16, 2013 at 6:42 am

      Great news. Hmmm….makes me want to get a door lock 🙂

  4. Snowwolf
    June 1, 2013 at 9:12 am

    I tried to reset the GE touchscreen with the home button, and it went through the motions of resetting until it got to downloading the firmware. Apparently it still needs internet access in order to download the factory settings. I kept getting a bad url message when attempting to reset to factory. I would guess that the link they use to download the factory image is no longer valid. I was able to reload to the current firmware, so it is safe to say that my TS did not become a brick. I hope some of this info is helpful to others trying to find a way to add new sensors around the keypad on the Safepro 3000 from ADT.

  5. Snowwolf
    June 1, 2013 at 9:25 am

    I just checked my version and I do have Rev C02, so this could be why it doesn’t work for me. those with CO1 may have better luck. if someone else has found a way to restore this option, please share.

  6. David
    November 27, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    Just bought a new GE TS 0700, does anyone know the master code or even the installer code

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Thanks. If you have never commented on this blog, it will appear once approved.

