Home > Technology > UPS Delivery

UPS Delivery


Part of the “joy” of having a security system with cameras is the ability to set up “automations” that are triggered off movement.  Yesterday the UPS driver came to our door.  Well, almost to the door.  He came far enough to toss our new chromebook at the door.

Since the chromebook works I am not to worried about the incident.  I have seen far worse treatment of UPS packages in the past.  I would have preferred setting the package down.  I would call the treatment of the package acceptable….barely.  If it was broke, the video is nice to have.  Enjoy.

  1. khoirulashraff96
    December 29, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    Reblogged this on inspirasilawakfm.

  2. Rich
    January 28, 2013 at 10:02 pm

    How did you get the camera to trigger from movement? What sensor did you use?

  3. Rich
    January 29, 2013 at 8:49 pm

    Thank you. Do have a transmitter with it as well because I see it requires a transmitter? Also how do I know what alarm I have? All I know is its a ADT Pulse system.

    • January 29, 2013 at 8:58 pm

      When you buy the outdoor sensor you wire a door module to the outside motion sensor. I would look at the door/window module directions to make sure you know what you are getting into. You take your door module and wire it to your motion. When the motion trips the door module “thinks” its a “non alarm” door opening. This non alarm status is set by placing the outdoor sensor in the outdoor sensor zone. You can see what panel you have by going in to your adt pulse touchscreen. I am not home so I can’t verify this but I believe it is on the settings tab in one of the corners of the screen. ALSO you can get the information by logging on to your pulse web portal and going to the system tab. It should be listed top of the screen. If you have a later model I am guessing it is a Vista panel. I don’t know anything about those panels but I hear they are easier to work with. There should be a manual in your alarm box. If not you can download them online. The homesecuritystore.com has manuals for all the panels they sell.

      edit: the door/window module is also wireless….duh…but just wanted to make sure I clarified. I believe the directions for the GE outdoor sensor include info on what modules work. http://download.homesecuritystore.com/downloadmanual.aspx?FileName=VX-402R_Install.pdf

    • January 29, 2013 at 9:03 pm
    • January 29, 2013 at 9:10 pm

      Also, EVERYTHING I have said is for the concord 4. Don’t buy the GE product for a Vista panel. Vista has its own products. If you have a simon panel I believe they are compatible with concord products. Sorry to spam you with replies.

  4. Rich
    January 29, 2013 at 9:51 pm

    Thank you for your help. Yes I have a vista panel so I guess I have to look for a outside motion sensor to work with that.

  5. Rich
    January 29, 2013 at 9:56 pm

    Sorry for all the questions. Once I get a wireless outdoor motion sensor how do I program it to trigger the camera not the alarm?

    • January 29, 2013 at 10:16 pm

      Once you get the motion sensor you have to install it into the security side (Vista). I am not sure how you do this with a vista panel. If it operates like a concord4 panel, the zone you put the motion sensor in dictates how that motion sensor responds. Generally, outdoor motion sensors will not trigger an alarm for obvious reasons. I am guessing there is a zone for vista outdoor sensors so they will behave as desired. Once installed, you program pulse to record when activated. So, you are kind of programming in two areas. Security modules must be entered through the panel. Once there, you can set up rules for them through the pulse system. The pulse system is just there to automate things when a module is triggered and to run schedules. The security panel dictates if that module alarms to the company, just your house, is delayed, etc..

    • January 29, 2013 at 10:19 pm
  6. Rich
    January 29, 2013 at 10:29 pm

    You have been a great help! Do you know where I can get cameras to work with the pulse system?

    • January 30, 2013 at 7:24 am

      ADT supplies the cameras. If you go wireless you have to make sure the cameras you get are programmed with ADT firmware. I see them on ebay advertised as ADT Pulse cameras. If you go wired you have to get Nv412A. You can get those on Ebay or from ADT. Those run about 100-150 each. Then you need an analog camera to hook into the system. I go over your options in this post:https://inzax.wordpress.com/2012/02/27/adt-pulse-adds-two-cameras/ This link has the adt analog cameras. Some will work with the 412A. I got my answer on which models would work from ADT Pulse Tech before I purchased. I then found them on ebay for much less. http://www.adt-matrix.com/products/cameras

  7. Jason
    February 13, 2013 at 8:23 pm

    Nice blog and good information. Regarding cameras, which ones did you get? When the sales person came out to my house, she indicated only three of the ADT Matrix cameras are sold to residential customers (A-CBVD36PI, A-CBVT2812PI and CTRT2812W). She indicated the pricing was $280 for the CBVD, $480 for the CBVT and $480 for the CTRT. I thought those were really high. As a result, I purchased two CTRTs for a total of $300 off e-bay (brand new sealed in box). The rep informed me that ADT WILL NOT install them for me even though they are the ADT branded same exact camera they would sell me. I have a large two-story house and am not sure how to install them myself (installation is easy but it’s the running of the cables that I’m not sure how/what to do). The basic 4-chanel DVR system with only two cameras (CBVDs) starts at $1740 and then the encoders are $75 a piece. This is all before 10% USAA discount. The prices are really high so I just wanted to see which cameras you went with, how many and what your cost was. Did you install them yourself? Have ADT do it? I’m wondering if I should roll the dice and purchase the system with two cameras with two extra encoders and hope the installers will take cash to install the other two cameras for me but that is an expensive gamble if they don’t do it. Also, do your cameras have motion capability via the DVR or no? Sorry for all the questions but I appreciate the help.

    • February 13, 2013 at 9:03 pm

      Ok. The dirty little secret with ADT is that a bunch of their camera’s will work. They are analog and as long as they have a BNC connector to hook in to the NV412A you should be fine. I would stick with the models they say will work but find another source to purchase….which you did so good for you. These are wired cameras so you will need to purchase some NV412’s from ADT. You can find them on ebay every once in awhile. The cameras plug in to your nv412 and your nv412 goes to the switch, which then connects to the IHub. The 412’s have a “video out” port you can run to your dvr. I purchased a cheap DVR with 8 ports and ran my SIX wired cameras to the dvr. I then use the dvr as a backup. I have it set up to record motion. The dvr manages the motion aspect so you can set it up to record however you want (different times, 24×7 or whatever) The NV412’s cost about 100 bucks with a USAA discount. I have seen them from an ADT vendor (zionsecurity) for 125. I thought that was high, but I may have gotten a deal since I was dealing directly with a regional sales manager not out for commission.

      If I were you, I would get the gear and install yourself. If you feel you can’t do it, get a buddy who can or pay an electrician. ADT charges outrageous prices for their DVR’s. I got mine for 180 bucks with a 1 gig hard drive. Yea…its cheap…probably will fail but I’ll just get another one after I salvage the drive. You can see if the installer will do it when they show up. I installed mine myself. Ran a Siamese bnc cable that had power and video so I only had to run one cable.

      If you get the two camera system, I think those cameras are wireless? Wireless cams do not come with a decoder. Decoders are needed only for wired cameras.

      You can see if ADT will install and just not warranty the wired cameras. That may be another option.

      Sorry to ramble….watching tv as I do this so I apologize if I responded in a disjointed manner.

    • February 13, 2013 at 9:13 pm

      Also, I got the CBVD’s I think. I will have to go into historic emails to see. Not at that computer right now so I can’t look it up. I got them off ebay for about 80 bucks each. I got four of them, ADT installed two with my original system.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Thanks. If you have never commented on this blog, it will appear once approved.

