Home > General, Technology > ADT Pulse Water Shut Off Valve

ADT Pulse Water Shut Off Valve


Having water leak sensors tied to the pulse system has saved us damage to our house twice. One troublesome toilet refused to behave. Fortunately for us, we were home both times the leak sensors alarmed. If we had not been home, a trustworthy friend would have had to step in and assist.

Leak sensors CAN NOT be added to the Pulse system via the IHub, web portal. They must be added through your security panel. Your security panel will have to support leak sensors and you will have to know the installer code to add them to the network. Once installed, the leak sensor will show up via the ADT Pulse touchscreen and web portal.

The ability to detect but not STOP a leak drove me nuts. I researched z-wave water shut off valves for various zwave systems. None of the manufactures would guarantee performance on the ADT Pulse system. Commercial options were also pricey. (Fortrezz, WaterCop, etc..) I was not able to find any information online about other pulse users coming up with a water shut off option.

Using an outdoor Z-Wave appliance/lamp module GE-45604 I came up with a solution.

I purchased a NORMALLY OPEN solenoid valve on Ebay. Locally these valves are available for hundreds of dollars at plumbing supply and HVAC stores. Looking online prices got better. You can use any valve designed to work with water. Make sure you get the right size valve for the pipes you have. Normally open works best for me. A normally open valve will only close when it is powered.  I went with the 120v option since that would plug right in to my lamp module.

solenoid valve

Looking online I have seen some discussion indicating use of a “motorized ball valve.”  This might be a better option. A motorized ball valve will only require power while it is being shut or opened. I was not sure what would happen if a motorized ball valve continued to receive power.  The ADT Pulse Automation System could be set to “turn off” a module.  If  the automation was not set up right would the ball valve open and shut due to the constant flow of power?  Not being sure I went with the Normally Open Solenoid Valve. It cost 33.99.

To wire the valve I took an old three pronged, extension cord. Cut one end and wired it to the solenoid valve. The other end of the extension cord would be plugged in to the outdoor module.

The valve was installed on the main water line after the main/manual shut off valve. I used “shark bite” fittings to link into the water line. Another shut off valve was installed after the solenoid to cover a mistake.

2012-12-06_07-09-44_791

With the valve installed I made several rules in the ADT Pulse automation system. The GE outdoor lamp module was renamed to “Water Shut Off Valve.” Each link sensor was set up to power up the “water shut off valve” when tripped. See below:

leak sensor

Downside, if the power goes out these automations will not work.  A battery back up option for the system and outdoor module would resolve this.  Perhaps the motorized ball valve would have been a better option however, I was not sure how it would work.  If I loose power and have a water leak I guess it is “gods will.”

The zwave shut off valves on the market run 100’s of dollars.  That does not include install.  This can be done for well under 100 dollars if you do your own install.  The valve cost $33, module $19, Sharkbite parts $8, time ?.  The install took about an hour and a half due to over aggressive pipe cutting.  A professional plumber might be a good option if you lack plumbing experience.  You will still get the job done for much less than a commercial product.

Edit:  It was just nagging at me having a useless ball valve on top of the solenoid valve.  Cleaned up the install a bit.  Much better now.

2012-12-08_16-35-31_457

  1. Anthony
    January 2, 2014 at 11:58 pm

    Very clever and inexpensive way to provide piece of mind for water damage using ADT Pulse. I purchased my items today to implement your approach. I have 5 water bugs: 3 toilets, water heater, and 2nd floor washer. One solution for all possible catastrophes. Instead of buying the valve from eBay, I opted for what looks like a more robust unit from dudadiesel.com: product: DFD Pressure Solenoid Valve, 25mm Orifice, 1″ NPT,
    Normally Open, Brass Body, NBR Seals, 28°F-176°F, 110v AC. Thank you for your upfront research. I’m now looking for a way to control the temp of my outdoor hot tub. Any ideas?

    • January 3, 2014 at 7:46 am

      Glad to help. Not sure how a hot tub temperature thermostat works. Adt uses zwave thermostats. I am not sure, but perhaps there is a way to have the thermostat monitor water temp. Modifications would be necessary… hmm. If I think of a way I will let you know.

  2. Sunit
    February 7, 2015 at 10:59 am

    We just had a major water leak with major damage. I reaaly like your solution. I am confused on which leak detection equipment you used. I can’t seem to find any for the ADT Pulse system. Thanks in advance for your help.

    • February 23, 2016 at 5:28 pm

      ADT pulse does not have a standard sensor. It is connected to your alarm panel. You will need the installer code for your panel if you are going to install it yourself. Sorry so late. I moved away from ADT Pulse.

  3. Stuart Blum
    January 29, 2016 at 7:01 pm

    When you turn the power to the z-wave module off, does the water turn back on?

    • February 23, 2016 at 5:26 pm

      Yes

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Thanks. If you have never commented on this blog, it will appear once approved.

