Home > General, Technology > Running a DVR with ADT Pulse

Running a DVR with ADT Pulse


If you have the ADT pulse video system you know that its ability to record events is based on “triggers.” Those triggers typically are actions or events. Opening a door, window or an alarm can all be programmed to record. Motion detectors can also be used to “trigger” a recording.

The systems reliance on events or triggers is a two edged sword. On one hand its convenient since it limits video clutter and you get only what you want. On the other hand there are situations where you might wish you captured a video outside of the programmed triggers and events.

By way of example, my work car is parked on the street. In theory I could put an outdoor motion detector somewhere near the vehicle that would act as a “trigger” to start recording on the outside camera. The result would be a huge amount of video funneled through the pulse system. Video I most likely would rarely look at unless there was an incident of vandalism on the vehicle. (something that has occurred twice in a year.)

Each of the NV412A-ADT’s used for the analog video camera’s associated with the pulse system, has a “video out” port. See below:

Running a video cable with a BNC connector from the “video out” port on the NV412 to a DVR enables you to record with the DVR. You can use all the features of the DVR including remote viewing, alarm notifications, 24/7 recording and even motion based recording. Most DVR’s use internal programing to determine motion and the ADT wired camera’s allow for this DVR motion detection. With remote viewing you can fully control most DVR’s.

If the video option for ADT Pulse is to expensive for you this might be a good option. In theory you could go with a lesser ADT Pulse system that would allow for home automation. Wiring your own cameras would eliminate the need for the ADT Pulse NV412’s.

  1. Moe M
    June 11, 2013 at 2:09 pm

    Was interested in viewing my Swann camera system I installed(BNC cables) on ADT’s system, Called ADT and I got nowhere. Still waiting on a call back, After doing some research it looks like I would need the NV412A to covert my video feed to ADT. Wanted some feedback before I invested. Thanks in advance

    • June 11, 2013 at 4:08 pm

      The only thing I know something about is the ADT Pulse system. The Swann video system you have would work (in theory) with an ADT pulse system by hooking up the Swann cameras directly to the NV412’s and then feeding the NV412 into the DVR via the video out option. ADT told me not every bnc/analog camera will work with an NV412. I don’t know if this is true. I THINK that any analog camera will work with an NV412.

      I am afraid I am not much help.

      You will have to have NV412’s if there is any chance of your current DVR working with the Pulse system. That also means no wireless cameras for you. Everything much be wired. Which you probably have already with the Swann system. You could try buying one NV412, hooking it up and see if it works.

      Currently I am using an ADT analog camera, hooked into the NV412, which feeds simultaneously into a splitter and DVR. The splitter then goes to the Ihub.

      Let me know if you have any further questions. Good luck.

    • Moe M
      June 12, 2013 at 10:01 am

      Thanks alot, that helped. I just purchased 1 NV412, will let you know the outcome.

    • Moe M
      June 17, 2013 at 10:15 am

      Do I have to pay ADT a monthly fee even if I dont want them monitoring my cameras? I just want to be able to view them off of the ADT app.

    • June 17, 2013 at 3:46 pm

      Keep in mind they do not monitor your camera’s. In fact ADT can’t see what your cameras are monitoring. In order to use the app you’re going to need to pay the monthly fee

    • June 17, 2013 at 3:47 pm

      One more thing, you’re probably better off with a DVR that allows for remote access if that’s what you want to do.

  2. Lars
    June 15, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    Guys, do you know if there’s any way to connect the nv412 directly to the tv? I have two wireless and two wired cameras with my ADT pulse system, but no DVR. Would like go get one of the wired cameras on my tv, not sure if I need a DVR. If I did get a DVR though , is there any way to get the wireless cameras connected to it?

    • June 15, 2013 at 1:33 pm

      Yes. You can connect a cable from the video out connection to a standard TV auxiliary input and it will show the video being processed through the NV412A. I tried it for kicks and it worked. I have not tried it on a high def tv. A DVR would utilize the same video out connection.

  3. Lars
    June 15, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    I tried this, but it only resulted in the stream from the camera disappearing and no picture on the screen . This was with a bnc male / RCA male cable. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000I23TLC/ref=oh_details_o02_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 maybe i should try an aux cable instead ?

    • June 16, 2013 at 7:24 am

      huh.. I can’t recall what type of cable I used. Currently with my DVR I am using a standard DVR type cable for security cameras. Each end with a bnc connection. I used the same cable on the tv and it worked (just now). I assume this is the type of cable I used when I originally tried to feed video to my TV.

    • Lars
      June 17, 2013 at 5:03 pm

      Do you have a bnc in on your tv ?
      I don’t , which is why I got the other cable . What kind of Dvr are you running ?
      Btw, I’m getting the netgear screens on Wednesday , replacing the GE screens. It will be interesting to see the difference in quality .

    • June 17, 2013 at 6:44 pm

      No bnc on tv but the cable fit for testing. I think you need to use the cables that come with DVR’s When I tried it, they worked. Currently, I am using the “out” connection to my dvr which is recording and displaying video. I got the DVR on ebay for cheap. This one is similar:
      http://www.ebay.com/itm/8-Channel-H-264-Real-Time-Surveillance-Security-DVR-1TB-/380266679662?pt=US_Surveillance_Security_Systems&hash=item5889a90d6e

      Is ADT replacing your screens for a fee? I am coming up on my 3 years and thought about trying to work a deal for new Netgear screens. Enjoy them.

    • Lars Bremnes
      June 18, 2013 at 11:20 pm

      Long story… Lets just say I’ve spent a lot of time on the phone with ADT… As fare as I’ve heard the netgear screens have now replaced the GE screens as standard equitement, it will be interesting to see how they work . I’ve been trying to find out if they can be wall mounted or not , according to netgear they can , according to local ADT office , it’s not possible . If you or anyone else knows anything about it , please share. I’ll let you know how the screens turn out.

      >

    • June 19, 2013 at 6:45 am

      Good luck. FYI, I have seen ADT produced pictures showing a wall mount for the HSS101. You will probably have to do it yourself. Not surprised ADT knows nothing.

    • Lars Bremnes
      June 19, 2013 at 7:03 am

      Oh yeah , I sent them the video ADT has made showing it wall mounted , I sent them the fact sheet from Netgear saying it can be wall mounted and I call adt technical support who also said it can be done , even so my local office claims it can’t be done . Long live ADT

      >

    • June 19, 2013 at 7:48 am

      Ha…this made me laugh….because its true.

    • Moe M
      June 19, 2013 at 1:07 pm

      Sorry to disappoint you but the Netgear HSS101 cannot be wall mounted. I have one at home that I keep on my bedside table. Comes with a silicon case that its main purpose is to display the ADT Pulse logo.The Netgear is alot better than the GE, Much, much faster. Honestly, I wouldnt spend the money on purchasing this. Buy an ipad mini. Here is an option for you, if you do still want to mount the netgear, (havent personally used it myself, but heard alot of good reviews). keep in mind the netgear does have a battery built in, but it does not last very long and will need to be plugged in frequently

      http://www.ebay.com/itm/HEDGIE-ANDROID-Tablet-or-IPAD-1-2-3-4-Mini-Universal-Tablet-Wall-Mount-/290921488161?pt=UK_iPad_Tablet_Mounts_Stands_Holders&hash=item43bc459f21

  4. lars
    June 19, 2013 at 12:37 pm

    btw, I think the Netgear screens cost $299 from ADT , I just saw someone selling two GE screens on ebay that sold for $260.

    • June 19, 2013 at 1:23 pm

      Yes. Crazy prices for the GE screen. I got one for 30 bucks off ebay. It was listed as broke. The wireless antenna was disconnected. Re-attached and works like a charm.

  5. lars
    June 19, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    are you only running wired cameras ? I`ve got two indoor wireless cameras, wondering if I`m able to run them on a dvr, any idea if that`s possible?

    • June 19, 2013 at 1:22 pm

      Sometimes the wireless cams come with a video output. I have no idea if the ADT cams have this option. If not, then you would have to work with ADT to install a DVR (I think). They would have the ability to route IP camera images via the Ihub to a DVR?????

  6. Mark
    June 30, 2013 at 10:03 am

    Camera’s can be of (2) types IP or Analog. The ADT Pulse system is an IP addressable system. (wired or wireless) ADT uses inexpensive IP cameras as their standard cameras with an option to use analog cameras using an analog to Digital encoder. (test to make sure your camera works with the encoder) If you have multiple cameras you can tie them into an ADT multi-channel DVR with RG-59 cable, The DVR includes TCP/IP, RJ-45 port capability.

    This allows tying the system into a standard router (ADT typically uses Netgear). The software that is provided with this DVR allows up to 64-channels of viewing. Standard ADT DVR’s offered are 4,8, and 16-channel. Standard DVR storage is 500-GB with add-on capacity of up to 4-Terabyte. * Note when storing video, space can be used quickly. Make sure and have adequate internet bandwidth to view your system remotely. The higher the recorded resolution,… the larger “internet pipe” you will need.

  7. Marty
    March 12, 2014 at 11:31 pm

    I had one of these installed and just completed the wall mounting process. Contrary to everything else posted on the internet, it can actually be wall mounted EASILY. The rubber case it comes with is a great wall mount – just make sure to use big enough fender washers that it won’t pull over time. Here’s a link to two photos of my install:
    https://plus.google.com/photos/100788951211109791485/albums/5990123741025350593
    I hid the transformer in the 3-gang electrical box below. The transformer is BIG, and even with a side-mounting plug, it was too far off the wall for my dresser. So, I got a deep box and a female plug adapter and wired it up. It was a very tight fit, but it came out great.
    Also, one thing nice about the unit is when you put it into night mode, it really goes to sleep completely unless the alarm goes off. I have it set to make a quiet chime when the doors are opened, but this doesn’t fire up the screen and blind us. No annoyances at all in my bedroom!

  8. ron
    September 4, 2014 at 6:20 pm

    i have a dvr unit from adt.i cant seem to put the video on a memory stick.when i put the stick after in my computer,i hit play and it plays a black screen,no video,any body please if you can help,my email is ronkrill@hotmail.ca

  9. Tom
    May 7, 2016 at 10:54 am

    Can I hook up my existing ADT wifi pulse cameras to a drv. Or can a dvr be connected to the ihub somehow.

    The goal is to be able to have my ADT wifi (oc835) cameras record on a dvr continuously instead of only getting 30 second clips on motion only.

    • May 7, 2016 at 11:24 am

      I have done this by hooking up the digital decoders to the DVR. I have since switched to a vera based system so I am not sure how ADT pulse works now. With my old set up I had analog cameras running to ADT’s digital decoder (I forget the model number). From the decoder I would run to the ihub. On the back of the decoder is the option for another video out jack. I ran that to the dvr. I am guessing if your camera’s have an IP address and run through a hub or can be seen on your home network as an IP camera you can run your dvr through your network and direct it to the IP camera.

  10. Glenn Cain
    July 17, 2016 at 5:08 pm

    Is it feasible to hard wire multiple IP cameras (OC-810) to the hub via an ethernet switch? How effective are the ADT approved wifi extenders? Can the Pulse system support multiple wired and wireless IP cameras?

    • July 18, 2016 at 6:32 pm

      Yes. I ran 6 cameras through a switch to the vera control hub. No idea on the extenders. The pulse system can support multiple cameras. In the interest of full disclosure, I have moved on to a Vera based zwave system. I was tired of paying ADT.

    • Glenn Cain
      July 18, 2016 at 6:58 pm

      Thank you for your feedback.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Thanks. If you have never commented on this blog, it will appear once approved.

