Home > Crime, General, Pre Pulse Ramblings, Society > Robert Hawkins Documents

Robert Hawkins Documents

  1. mandacity
    December 1, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Here’s a little humor in light of the upcoming Von Maur Shooting Anniversary:

    Hawkins is greeted at the pearly gate by St Peter, who says, “Bobby, because you are a mentally sick person, we’ll probably still let you in, however, you must answer one question.”

    Hawkins ponders this and replies, “OK, fair enough.”

    St Peter continues, “of your victims, why in the wide wide world of sports did you kill innocent people, yet you only wounded the lawyer?”

    Hawkins caustically replies, “How the heck was I supposed to know he was a lawyer?”

    “Easy,” says St Peter while waving him away, “he was the one sucking the blood from the other victims’ wounds!”

    • paula
      May 5, 2009 at 7:55 pm

      How can you make a joke of this? To someone who was there that day… it actually makes me sick. I came across this 5 months after you wrote it. I could never find any humor in that day. One year later…one decade later. I would hate to think of what St. Peter is going to say to you one day.

  2. July 12, 2009 at 1:32 am

    I don’t claim to be certified to help people with mental problems, but it seems to me that forcing someone who is admitted to a psychiatric facility (because, among other things, they are threatening to harm their stepmother) to make a Mother’s Day card seems like a really bad idea with really bad timing.

    My father was unfortunately placed at a Richard Young facility in Kearney, NE for a short period of time when he was dealing with mental health issues. Almost all therapy was group therapy and I really feel he could have benefitted from more one-on-one time with a professional. They entirely missed a HUGE physical cause of his mental problems, which was a hole in his heart. Coincidentally, none of the prescribed psychiatric drugs helped at all. He was released within days and sent home as if everything was peachy. From what I know of the family therapy sessions, they only served to further injure our family unit, not repair it or make life better for him. He later killed himself. I am not happy with this entire chain of facilities. Despite how he died, my father was a good, proud, strong person who would not easily reach out for this kind of help. I do not hold these professionals responsible for his death, but I do feel that they dropped the ball, to say the least.

    I don’t condone or excuse anything that Hawkins did. I do wish, however, that he might have been lucky enough to go somewhere else for treatment. I don’t know that it would have made a difference, but I do wish that so many Nebraskans who need help did not have to deal with the Richard Young Psychiatric facilities.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Thanks. If you have never commented on this blog, it will appear once approved.

